Today is all you’ve got now, and today is all you’ll ever have.

I’ve decided I need to… “live in the moment.” That probably sounds flaky, but let me explain: I usually have this vague sense that something is missing from my life.  There’s always an “if only”. If only I was done with school, if only I had more energy, if only I was married, if only I hadn’t gained this stinkin’ freshman fifteen – then I would be happy!

The thing is, I know this isn’t a correct view of reality.  I should learn to be content in all circumstances. I shouldn’t be waiting for some mystical happiness factor to arrive and make everything great.

Cause you know what? Everything is great! I have wonderful, hilarious, and supportive family and friends, and a boy who loves me in spite of my strangeness. I have a gospel-preaching church to attend every Lord’s day. I have a job! I have a healthy body. Next week, I’m starting nursing school at RCC, and what a blessing that is! Over and above it all, I have a Savior who loves me and has taken away my sin. I was dead and have been made alive again. I was lost, and am found!

What I’ve come to realize is that any sense of unhappiness or discontent is nothing less than sin on my part. Christ died that I might have life, and have it to the full. My sin and weakness take away from the joy I should have always in Jesus. But his grace is greater than all my sin.

All this rambling is to say I am going to endeavor to be content and joyful in all circumstances and at all times. I can’t keep waiting for tomorrow. Today is all I’ve got.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

