Who Makes the Woeful Heart to Sing

As I write this, I am sitting in my living room with complete quiet. It’s so peaceful to just sit and think. One thing I’ve been convicted of lately is my tendency to live without any intentionality; without taking time to consider the effects of my actions, to seek God in prayer, and to do everything for his glory.

I think it was Plato who said, “The unexamined life is not worth living”, and in a lot of ways, I agree with this. The Christian life is supposed to be a battle, right? Against the world, the flesh, and the devil. And how can we fight if we aren’t consciously putting on the armor of God, and seeking God every day?

So many times for me, I just get too “busy” with other, far less important things. In his sermon this Sunday, Pastor Chris said that the reason we seek out idols instead of God is because at that moment we believe that they will bring us more happiness and satisfaction than God (or something to that effect). I was very much struck by that. I won’t seek the Lord unless I see him as more desirable than anything else. Unless I see that true joy only comes from Christ, then I will be chasing after idols for that joy.

And today, sitting in the quiet, I am struck again by what a wonderful Savior I have. He is my precious Redeemer and friend, my Rock and my salvation. He has promised to never leave me, nor forsake me. Nothing this world can offer can compare to the Lamb of God.

Fair is the sunshine,
Fairer still the moonlight,
And all the twinkling starry host;
Jesus shines brighter, Jesus shines purer
Than all the angels heaven can boast.

Fair are the meadows, fairer still the woodlands,
Robed in the blooming garb of spring;
Jesus is fairer, Jesus is purer,
Who makes the woeful heart to sing.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Makes the Woeful Heart to Sing

  1. C Ty. says:

    “Test yourselves.” – 2 Corinthians 13:5

    Good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

