Blessed

At clinical this week, a friend of mine was telling me about the patient he was assigned. She was spouting off bible verses (complete with references) to him all morning and afternoon. When the doctor asked this woman (in her late 70s, hospitalized for pneumonia) how she was doing, she replied, “I am blessed.”

Initially, this made me smile and laugh a little. But it’s gotten me thinking. When I’m unhappy or discontent, I tell myself, “You have nothing to complain about! Your life is basically perfect! You have everything you could possibly need.” But sometimes, nothing I tell myself can change my feelings.

Do I really believe that I am blessed?

This morning, I am struck anew by the goodness of God. No matter where I go in life – whether things go “perfectly” or I’m hit by disaster after disaster and lose everything – I am blessed.

There is no one holy like the LORD; There is no one besides you. There is no Rock like our God. – 1 Samuel 2:2

 
The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. – Psalm 18:2

This may all seem patently obvious – because it is. But I have a Father in heaven who has adopted me as his child, through no good of my own. Jesus Christ loved me and gave himself for me. And he has not left me as an orphan, but he has sent the Holy Spirit to be my counselor and comforter.

The LORD lives, and blessed be the Rock. And let the God of my salvation be exalted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessed

  1. C Ty. says:

    It’s amazing how we forget the simple things sometimes. More proof that we need to hear the gospel just as much as any of the unconverted.

  2. Bekah says:

    I really liked this post, Eud… 🙂

Leave a Reply

