Half Marathon and Vacation Week!

I ran in the Maple Grove Half Marathon last Saturday. 13.1 miles! I finished in 2:20:14. My goal was to not walk any of it – but the hills really got to me, so I ended up walking up some hills near the end of the race. But honestly, I find it kinda miraculous that I even finished this thing 😛

I couldn’t sleep at all the night before, I was super nervous! Bekah and I got up around 5 to get ready, then we picked up Ashley and headed over to Maple Grove. The race started at 7:30, and it was about 45 degrees and rainy. They played “We Will Rock You” on the loud speakers as we started and that was super motivating! Overall, it was pretty grueling for me, but extremely satisfying 🙂 And if nothing else, it confirmed in my mind that I will not ever run a full marathon, not in a million years! Any movement involving my legs was pretty painful for a few days, lol.

I got to attend my dear friend Ashley Bendickson’s college graduation that afternoon as well! She has a Bachelor’s Degree at the ripe old age of 19! I am super proud of her. I had to drive home on monday to work a short shift, but I drove back right afterward.

Bekah and I went for a 4 mile run on thursday evening. I always slow her down, but it's great to run together 🙂 We're sportin' our "Half Marathon Finisher" shirts!

So I got to spend the whole week living with my sister, and her roommates (including Ashley). I was able to go to lifegroup and church with Bekah, which was wonderful! It was a seriously refreshing and relaxing week, the best part of which was spending time with my best friends. We ate a lot of junk food, watched a lot of the Office and Gilmore girls, had some great conversations. I am so blessed with the people God has put in my life!

I also read the Hunger Games trilogy this last week – very good story, I would recommend it to anyone! I started reading the first book one evening around 10, and of course, I stayed up till 6:30 reading it, because I have no self-control when it comes to good books.

These books are phenomenal. Great concept, great story, great everything. I am a fan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

