Making the Best Use of the Time

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.” – Ephesians 5:15 &16

Today I missed church because I’ve been feeling pretty sick (Plus I can’t leave town because of my CVRC hotline duties). So while my family was gone, I listened to a sermon titled “Redeeming Singleness”, by Pastor Jim Savastio. The text was Ephesians 5:15&16, which obviously applies to every believer, but this application was specifically in regard to singleness.

As believers, we are promised persecutions, trials, and hardships (2 Timothy 3:12, James 1:2, etc.). We know that life won’t be a cake walk, because it’s through trials that we are sanctified. “The days are evil”. I like the quote by Plato “Only the dead have seen the end of war,” as it applies to Christian life. Our lives are battles, and we’re never supposed to stop fighting against our sin and the devil until the day we go home to be with God. Honestly, the thought kind of makes me feel tired! But then again, if God is for us, who can be against us? He gives us new mercies every morning.

Anyway! Back to the singleness thing. Pastor Jim had a couple main points/exhortations:

1. Use your singleness to serve.

2.  Use your singleness to get to know your God.

3. Don’t squander your singleness in moral compromise.

4. Don’t waste your singleness in selfish pursuits.

5. Use your singleness in preparation for marriage. “Be becoming the kind of person that the kind of person you want to marry would want to marry.”

I guess these are my goals for the next few years (or the rest of my life, or however long I am single). To live prayerfully and thoughtfuly, seeking God. And to not just view this as a transition to be hurried along, but an opportunity to be maximized!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

