Instead of TV…

Today instead of watching TV, I:

  • Ran 2 and a half miles (outside in the sunshine!)
  • Read my bible
  • Studied for my NCLEX – PN
  • Cleaned my room
  • Worked for 8 hours
  • Read the first chapter of  The Mortification of Sin, by John Owen

I’m not going to do this all the time, but I think for now, it’s helpful and motivating to me! One source I saw today said that the average American spends about 5 hours a day watching television. Crazy! But I understand how it can be done, and can become a habit.

P.S. – I’m starting up the Mortification of Sin. I read about half of it last year, and then stopped because I got distracted or something (typical me). So I’m excited about that! I borrowed this copy from my brother, Kyle ( I think when Judah was born, so I know I’ve had it over a year). It has all sorts of notes written in the margins, and things already underlined for me! Thanks, Kyle 😉

The language is a little tricky in places, but I got used to it after the first chapter or so.

My favorite quote so far:

“Mortification (of sin) from a self-strength, carried on by ways of self-invention, unto the end of self-righteousness, is the soul and substance of all false religion in the world.”

This entry was posted in Instead of TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

