My Adventures in Bread-Making

This weekend, I decided to try out a few different bread recipes that I’d found online. I’ve made bread before, but it never turns out quite right. So, I figured the only way to get past that is a little bit of experimentation and trial and error.

Attempt #1: Basic Bread from Joy the Baker

http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/2010/02/bread-and-butter/

Rising in the sunshine on the porch.

After the first rising - punched down and divided into two balls.

It rose! Shazam!

The finished product (there were two). It looks like a UFO?

Sliced

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So this bread was pretty good, but it was a little dense. It rose super well since I had it sitting on the porch (and it was 80+ degrees!), but I don’t think I made the slits on the top fast enough because it sort of splooshed flat right before I put it in the oven.  Anyways, it was still pretty decent!

 

Attempt #2: No-Knead Bread from Steamy Kitchen

http://steamykitchen.com/168-no-knead-bread-revisited.html

I mixed all the ingredients (flour, salt, yeast, water), at noon on saturday, and left it to sit. On sunday morning at 6, I formed it into a ball, and set it in this cloth. This is 6 hours later at noon.

And here it is done! And yes, it is in a pot.

And again! Yes!

Sliced! I like this bread.

Look at those air bubbles!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This bread was great! It takes almost a full 24 hours to make (because of the 12-20 hour rising time), but it’s hardly any work! You bake it in a pot (which looks kind of funny), but it makes the crust crispy and delicious. This was less dense, more chewy, and more crusty than the first recipe attempt. Plus, I think it looks cooler. I will definitely be making this again 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment